In 1997, the Cultural Center of Raismes (5km from Valenciennes, north of France) was approached by a group of people interested by rock, Metal and Progressive Rock muscis, with the desire to organize a festival in the city. An organizing committee was created consisting of twenty people. The May 16, 1998 the Raismes Fest was created.

Since 2000 the festival takes place in the castle of Princess d'Arenberg (1 hectare).

Since 2005, a second stage faces the Mainstage because the festival is also a springboard for regional and national bands that are eager to find scenes like Raismes to be.

The Main stage of the festival is primarily open to groups confirmed internationally renowned (MSG, Saxon, Gamma Ray, Therion, uriah Heep, Edguy, Freak Kitchen, Epica, Angra, Glenn Hughes, Gotthard ...)

Raismes Fest has, over the years, attracting a growing audience from France but also from Belgium and Holland (4000 persons for the tenth edition of 2007) allowing it to take place since 2002 on two days (second weekend of September).

Age of viewers is 7 to 77 years (when you like rock, it's forever!). RaismesFest is a festival where all generations of fans "Metal" in all its forms coexist in a single atmosphere, which made the reputation of the festival.

En 1997, le Centre Culturel de Raismes (à 5km de Valenciennes) a été sollicité par un groupe de personnes intéressées par le rock, style Métal, Rock Progressif, avec l’envie d’organiser sur la ville un festival. Un comité d’organisation s’est ainsi créé regroupant une vingtaine de personnes. Le 16 mai 1998 naissait le Raismes Fest.


Depuis l'année 2000 le festival a lieu dans l'enceinte du château de la princesse d'Arenberg (1 hectare) prêté par la mairie.


Depuis 2005, une 2ème scène fait face à la Mainstage car le festival se veut aussi un tremplin pour des groupes régionaux et nationaux qui ne demandent qu’à trouver des scènes comme Raismes pour se révéler.


La grande scène du festival est principalement ouverte à des groupes confirmés de renommée internationale (MSG, Saxon, Gamma Ray,Therion, uriah Heep, Edguy, Freak Kitchen, Epica, Angra, Glenn Hughes, Gotthard…)


Le Raismes Fest a su, au cours des années, attirer un public toujours plus nombreux venant de France mais aussi de Belgique et de Hollande, (4000 personnes pour la dixième édition de 2007) lui permettant de se dérouler depuis 2002 sur deux jours (2ème weekend de septembre).


L'âge des spectateurs va de 7 à 77 ans (quand on aime le rock, c'est pour toujours !) .Le Raismes Fest est donc un festival où toutes les générations d'amateurs de "Metal" sous toutes ses formes se côtoient, dans une ambiance conviviale unique,qui a fait aussi la réputation de ce festival.